Cardmaking

Friendships and followers!

Happy Tuesday crafty people!  It’s a gorgeous day here and I’ve decanted to our new patio to write this blog post, this is the life….

20190723_162950.jpg

I’m celebrating today as the blog has reached 100 followers!  Thank you so much to everyone who has clicked that button and supports the blog with a  comment or a like, it means a lot to this crafting ninja!  Anyway I am here with a crafty make inspired by a recent blog post from Erika’s Strangely Creative where she used distress oxide inks on photo paper.  I had bought a pack to try with alcohol inks (it didn’t really work!) so I thought I would give it a go….

The first one I did my own version of Erika’s layered stamping using some background stamps and a silhouette stamp of a bird on a branch.  I matt and layered it up and was quite pleased with the effect.

20190723_125013.jpg

Then I made some inky backgrounds by smooshing the oxides onto my glass matt, spritzing with water and then smooshing the paper into the ink.  I did one colour at a time and then dried before applying the next layer.  This time I buffed the oxide inks with a dry piece of kitchen roll and then stamped the silhouette with archival ink in black.

20190723_124930.jpg

The last project was using a die cut piece of this same background.  I then stamped the script on top with oxide ink before stamping the grasses and sentiment in archival black ink.  These stamps were from the new issue of Cardmaking and Papercraft.  The flowers were stamps from the same set and I stamped them using the oxides before die cutting out.

20190723_125038.jpg

This is the final design…

20190723_125029.jpg

I’d like to enter this last card into the Fusion ombre Challenge (I used the colours and card sketch) and the Simon Says Wednesday Challenge (make your own background).  I hope you are all having a fab day and if you are having a heat wave that you find a cool spot for some craftiness.

Crafty hugs

Jenny (AKA the Ginger Ninja!) x

8 thoughts on “Friendships and followers!

  1. All three cards are beautiful, Jenny! I love your take on the sketch, too…especially those sweet little blooms! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Fusion!
    PS – Your patio is lovely…enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a comment