Cardmaking · Uncategorized

Stencil it – I dare you!

Happy Friday crafty friends! I hope you’re having a good week. It’s time for another Daring Cardmakers Challenge and this week Nat is our host. As the title of this post suggests, this week’s challenge is all about stencils. She would like you to use stencils on your card this week, whether in the form of:

  • Stamp + stencil + die combos
  • Stand-alone stencils for ink blending, texture paste, and other media
  • Layered stencils to create colourful backgrounds
  • And if you don’t yet have any stencils in your stash, you can create your own masks/stencils with your existing die collection, or even some free-hand cutting for fun edges

For my project I used a Tim Holtz tartan stencil and some pixie powders to create my background paper. This is one of my favourite ways to use stencils. I taped the stencil onto some white card on my glass mat and then lightly sprinkled some pixie powders (I used three colours) across the stencil. I then lightly sprayed water until the powders had been activated but not too much water that you lose the details of the stencil. I then carefully peeled off the stencil and turned it over onto another a blank piece of card and press it with some kitchen roll to create a negative print of the stencil. Once it’s dried I cut a square panel which I mounted onto a black layer and a blue layer to complement the colours I used.

I then added a Tim Holtz modern flower die cut (layered with gold and black) and added some gold nuvo drops to finish it off.

I hope you will hop on over to the Daring Cardmakers Challenge blog and share your makes too, there is some beautiful cards from the design team to get you started if you need a wee bit of inspiration.

Crafty hugs

Jenny (AKA Ginger Ninja Crafts!) xx

Leave a comment