Cardmaking

Ombre Background

Happy Thursday Crafty People!  I hope you are all having a fabulous week.  I have a fishy card to share today for the Sisterhood of Snarky Stampers challenge, for the theme O for Ombre.

I started by making an ombre background using some distress oxide (blueprint sketch and salty ocean) and distree inks (faded jeans and shaded lilac).  I blended them together from palest to darkest before splashing with some water to leave some white spots and splashes.

20190318_143234

I used the lovely furry friends stamp set (a recent magazine giveaway) for the sentiment and heat embossed this in gold on some navy cardstock.

I chose the gold fish from the Rare Earth Cute Critters stamp set.  It’s such a detailed stamp that I simply stamped it in Izink ink (honey) on white and orange paper before fussy cutting them both out and layering the orange behind to leave a drop shadow.

20190318_145750

I mounted the ombre paper on orange before adding to the navy card.  The fish was glued on with some gold gem bubbles.

20190318_145932

I hope that you like my fishy card!  Thanks so much for visiting the Ginger Ninja Crafts blog, I hope you’ll come back soon.

Crafty hugs

Jenny (AKA the Ginger Ninja!) x

8 thoughts on “Ombre Background

  1. Really nice card, Jenny! I have to go to the local arts & crafts store and investigate current magazines (do the ones sold here include stamp sets and/or die sets???). You get some great “included with purchase” items.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment