Cardmaking

Daring Cardmakers Challenge – Midsummer

Hi crafty friends did you know that it is Midsummer’s day,  a day to appreciate all the gifts that nature provides.  This week I am hosting the Daring Cardmaker’s challenge and I dare you to make a card inspired by Midsummer.  Share your appreciation of nature and maybe even include some natural elements e.g. pressed flowers, leaf prints.

I started with some ferns I picked from the garden as I wanted to have a play with my gelli plate. I’m very much a novice with gel printing so I went very basic and added some paint to the plate before laying on with fern leaves.

It was very much a trial and error session but I tried just the leaf silhouette (as above in the picture).

Then I lifted another print once I had taken the leaves off. This gave a bit more of the leaf detail but felt a bit messy!

Then I tried a second print by removing the leaves and adding another layer of paint before lifting a print. The leaves were pretty much overwhelmed by the second coat of paint.

I tried then adding a layer of paint before putting the painty ferns back on with the painty side up.

I like this version best I think, the fern detail came out (as long as the paint was still wet enough) and the background colour didn’t overwhelm the leaves.

I then had a rummage for some pressed flowers which I had made last summer (must grab some more this year!)

To make my card I cut some panels of my gelli prints added some black cardstock to give some contrast and then used one of my yellow daisy type flowers. The sentiment is from a craftstash stamp set designed by the lovely Ashley (Paper and Twine on YouTube) who won Card maker of the Year in 2021.

To finish off the card I added some nuvo drops in green.

I hope you will hop over and join in with our nature themed challenge, I’m sure you will have some very creative ideas for our theme. Now I’m off to add another pile of gel printed papers to my stash (can you see how this pile will still be there long after I have left this life…. in fact the pile could crush me and be the cause of my death!!) Have a wonderful Midummers day, I hope the sun is shining for you 🙂

Crafty hugs

Jenny (AKA Ginger Ninja Crafts!) xx

Leave a comment